Dome Gold Mines Opens Public Comment on Sigatoka Iron Sands EIA Report
Key Takeaways
- Fiji's Department of Environment has opened public consultation on the draft Sigatoka Iron Sands EIA, with comments closing on 30 October 2026 after a 21-day review.
- Consultation is a formal step and not an approval, and the DOE has not disclosed a decision date or any steps beyond analysing the report and comments.
- Drilling for an initial JORC resource is complete and the feasibility study is in its final stages, though no resource, capital cost or production figures have been released.
- Dome's goal is to convert exploration licence SPL1495 into a mining licence and start production, and it describes Sigatoka as a very low capital cost project generating quick revenues.
- Ono Island (SPL1451) is in final relinquishment with sign-off expected by the end of October, leaving Sigatoka and Nadrau as the core focus.
Sigatoka Iron Sands Project: EIA public consultation opens
Dome Gold Mines (ASX: DME) said in its 16 October 2026 announcement that Fiji’s Department of Environment (“DOE”) has commenced public consultation on the draft Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) report for the Sigatoka Iron Sands (magnetite) Project. The project sits on Special Prospecting Licence (SPL 1495) and is held by the company’s wholly owned subsidiary, Magma Mines PTE Ltd.
Public exposure is a formal regulatory step. It does not mean approval has been granted, and the announcement says only that the DOE will analyse the report and all comments and determine the next steps in the assessment process.
Key dates
| Milestone | Date |
|---|---|
| EIA report submitted to DOE | 10 September 2026 |
| Public review period | 21 days |
| Public comments close | 30 October 2026 |
Members of the public may inspect the report and submit comments until the closing date.
When big ASX news breaks, our subscribers know first
What does the EIA process involve?
An Environmental Impact Assessment is a formal review of how a project may affect its surroundings. Mining projects typically need one before moving towards a mining licence, which makes it a gating item for the company.
The announcement describes the process as running under the Environment Management Act 2025. In sequence, it involves:
- Submission of the EIA report to the DOE
- A public review period, with comments invited
- DOE analysis of the report and all comments submitted
- The DOE determining the next steps in the assessment process
The announcement does not disclose a decision date or any further steps.
What is the Sigatoka Project and how does it fit Dome’s strategy?
Dome describes Sigatoka as a heavy mineral sand project containing abundant magnetite and industrial sands with “unique properties”. According to the announcement:
- Drilling to establish an initial JORC mineral resource estimate has been completed.
- The final stages of a feasibility study are now underway.
- Commencement of production by conventional sand mining and wet processing is anticipated.
A JORC resource estimate is a standardised way of reporting the amount and confidence level of minerals in the ground. No resource figures, capital costs or production dates are disclosed in this announcement.
Dome’s stated objective is to complete the feasibility study, convert exploration licence SPL1495 into a mining licence and commence production. The company characterises Sigatoka as a “very low capital cost project, generating quick revenues” intended to allow the development of its other projects. That is the company’s own description, not an independently verified outcome.
Company aim
The company states that it aims “to become a major force in the mining industry of Fiji” through the discovery and development of mineral resources within its Fijian tenements.
The next major ASX story will hit our subscribers first
What’s next for Dome?
The next dated catalyst is the close of public comments on 30 October 2026, followed by DOE analysis. No decision date has been disclosed.
Beyond Sigatoka, Dome’s other project is Nadrau (SPL1452), where additional exploration programmes for copper-gold porphyry deposits are planned. Separately, a relinquishment process for SPL1451 Ono Island is in its final stage, with sign-off by the Mineral Resources Department expected by the end of October. That reads as a portfolio tidy-up as the company concentrates on its other projects.
Tenement schedule
The schedule below uses the holder names as listed in the source. Areas are stated “at 31 March 2016”, so treat them as dated figures.
| Tenement | Holder | Interest | Area (ha) | Expiry |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SPL 1451* Ono Island | Dome Mines Ltd | 100% | 3,028 | 26/07/2027 |
| SPL 1452 Central Viti Levu | Dome Mines Ltd | 100% | 33,213 | 3/07/2027 |
| SPL 1495 Sigatoka Ironsand | Magma Mines Ltd | 100% | 2,522 | 24/11/2028 |
*SPL1451 Ono Island is in the final stage of relinquishment, with sign-off expected by the end of October.
Dome positions itself as an Australian mining company focused on gold, copper, magnetite and industrial sands in Fiji. It maintains a full-time office and development team in Fiji and holds 100% of each tenement listed in its schedule.
Don’t Miss the Next ASX Mining Breakout
Join 30,000+ investors getting FREE breaking ASX mining news in their inbox within minutes of release, complete with in-depth analysis and the full announcement. Click the “Free Alerts” button at Big News Blast to stay ahead of the market the moment news breaks.
