White Gold Corp PEA Delivers 38% IRR, but at What Price?
Key Takeaways
- White Gold Corp's PEA on its Yukon project delivers a C$1.911 billion after-tax NPV5% and a 38% IRR at a US$3,600 per ounce gold price, with initial capital of approximately C$1.05 billion paid back in just 1.7 years.
- The US$3,600 per ounce base case has been directly criticised by analysts as considerably higher than assumptions used by peer projects, and the PEA contains no published downside sensitivity near the US$2,000-2,500 per ounce range that comparable studies routinely disclose.
- Approximately 1 million ounces of the estimated 3 million ounce resource were excluded from the current open-pit mine plan, representing deferred value that could be priced in a future study if autumn 2026 drilling and a resource update support it.
- White Gold's shares have already risen from C$1.22 to C$2.23 across 2026, compressing the easy re-rating; the next leg of upside requires either resource growth from the 15,000-20,000 metre drill programme or a gold price that holds above the base case through the financing window.
- Snowline Valley's PEA, built on a US$2,150 per ounce base case with a 20-year mine life and 544,000 ounces of average annual production in the first five years, sets a clear benchmark for what conservative price discipline looks like at a comparable northern Canadian project.
A C$1.911 billion after-tax net present value against a C$1.05 billion price tag, with the initial capital paid back in 1.7 years at a gold price the market is trading near right now. Those are the headline numbers from White Gold Corp’s new economic study on its Yukon project, and they are the kind that make a gold investor stop scrolling.
The White Gold Corp PEA, released on 10 August 2026, covers an open-pit-only scenario running at 12,000 tonnes per day on the company’s flagship White Gold Project in Yukon, Canada. It is the first formal economic study to put a headline valuation on a resource base estimated at roughly 3 million ounces, and it arrived while gold sat close to the US$3,600/oz price baked into the base case. Management is explicit that this is a starting point, not a final determination.
This analysis gives you the specific numbers, the peer comparisons, and the stress-test logic you need to judge one thing: whether that C$1.911 billion figure is a credible floor or a ceiling dressed up as a base case.
What the PEA actually shows: economics, throughput, and the open-pit decision
Start with the architecture, because the internal logic tells you as much as the headline. A Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) is an early-stage study carrying a plus or minus 30% margin of error on cost and production estimates, which means every figure below is a directional midpoint rather than a fixed value.
The PEA accuracy range of plus or minus 30% is a structural feature of early-stage mining studies, not a White Gold-specific weakness; every metric in this assessment sits inside that uncertainty band, which is why peer comparisons anchored to tighter feasibility-level numbers will look structurally more reliable until White Gold publishes a pre-feasibility study.
Here are the five metrics every future investor will anchor to:
- After-tax NPV5%: C$1.911 billion (at US$3,600/oz gold, discounted at 5%)
- After-tax IRR: 38%
- Payback period: 1.7 years
- Initial capital expenditure: approximately C$1.05 billion
- Average annual production: approximately 188,000 ounces over a 9.4-9.5 year mine life
The credibility signal: A 38% internal rate of return paired with a 1.7-year capital payback is the most investor-legible part of this study. It says the project, on paper, returns its build cost fast and clears the hurdle rate comfortably, provided the gold price holds.
What the study deliberately left out matters just as much. Only about 2 million of the estimated 3 million ounces were folded into this open-pit scenario. The underground component was parked entirely, with ongoing drilling cited as the reason to defer it rather than model it prematurely.
The assessment also grappled with real execution conditions rather than idealised ones. Year-one output was set at 85% of capacity, an acknowledgement that mines rarely hit full throughput on day one. Infrastructure scope included a new 5,000-foot airstrip capable of landing a Boeing 737, a detail that signals the study priced in the logistics of a remote Yukon operation.
The throughput decision and what it leaves on the table
Management evaluated two processing rates, and the choice between them is where confidence becomes visible. An 8,000 tpd option would have produced roughly 155,000 ounces annually with lower upfront capital and a faster route to payback. The 12,000 tpd scenario they selected produces more per year and carries a larger headline NPV, but demands the full C$1.05 billion build.
Choosing the larger footprint tells you management believes the resource can support a top-tier production profile. That belief still rests on a study with a 30% error band and an incomplete underground picture, so treat the NPV as a confidence range rather than a point estimate.
The trade-off also leaves roughly 1 million ounces outside the current mine plan, unpriced by this PEA. That is not lost value; it is deferred value waiting on the next study. For now, the open-pit case is what the market has to work with.
When big ASX news breaks, our subscribers know first
How the economics hold up when gold price assumptions are stress-tested
Gold price is the single most powerful lever in any PEA model, so the sensitivity range is where the real assessment begins. White Gold disclosed two cases, and both point upward.
Gold price leverage in project economics operates asymmetrically: a 25% rise in the gold price tends to deliver a disproportionately larger NPV gain than a 25% fall delivers a loss, because fixed operating costs become a smaller share of revenue at higher prices, which partly explains why White Gold’s upside scenario adds roughly C$1.1 billion of NPV while the downside remains unpublished.
At the US$3,600/oz base case, the project returns a C$1.911 billion NPV and a 38% IRR. Push the price to US$4,500/oz and NPV climbs to roughly C$3.0 billion, with IRR rising to approximately 52%. The leverage is real, and bullish commentators frame it exactly that way.
Now reverse direction, because this is where the disclosure goes quiet. The study does not publish a downside sensitivity at US$1,800/oz or US$2,000/oz, the range where cautious analysts benchmark comparable projects. That absence is the single most important gap for you to notice.
The peer critique: IndexBox’s analysis, published the same day as the PEA on 10 August 2026, characterised the US$3,600/oz base case as “considerably higher than that used by peer projects,” a direct warning that the headline NPV leans on an elevated price assumption.
Compare that with how peers structure their studies. Snowline Gold discloses a downside case showing its Valley deposit still generates a C$1.6 billion NPV and a 17% IRR at US$1,650/oz. That is the stress-test that separates an all-weather project from one that only works in a bull market, and it is precisely what White Gold’s disclosure lacks.
| Scenario | Gold price | After-tax NPV5% | After-tax IRR |
|---|---|---|---|
| White Gold base case | US$3,600/oz | C$1.911B | 38% |
| White Gold upside case | US$4,500/oz | ~C$3.0B | ~52% |
| Snowline Valley downside (reference) | US$1,650/oz | C$1.6B | 17% |
There is a methodology point worth internalising too. White Gold’s PEA does not separately disclose a mine design price distinct from its financial-modelling price. Both Snowline (design at US$1,950/oz) and the Coffee Gold PEA (design at US$2,500/oz) do, keeping their physical mine plans viable at conservative prices even when the financial model runs hotter. If you accept White Gold’s base case without running your own sensitivity near US$2,000-2,500/oz, you are implicitly betting the current price environment persists for the full nine-year mine life.
Where White Gold sits among comparable Yukon and northern Canadian PEAs
A standalone PEA can flatter a project. Benchmarking against peers at similar development stages is how institutional investors actually size positions, and it reveals what the headline number alone conceals.
The gap between PEA valuation against market capitalisation is a ratio analysts track closely at the early-development stage, and the White Gold situation, where shares have already nearly doubled to C$2.23, illustrates how quickly that gap compresses once a headline NPV lands and sentiment shifts.
| Project | Base-case gold price | After-tax NPV5% | Initial capex | Annual production / mine life |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| White Gold | US$3,600/oz | C$1.911B | ~C$1.05B | 188,000 oz / 9.4-9.5 yrs |
| Snowline Valley | US$2,150/oz | C$3.5B | C$1.7B | 544,000 oz (first 5 yrs) / 20 yrs |
| Coffee Gold | US$3,620/oz | US$2.3B | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
The Snowline comparison is the sharpest. Its Valley deposit is a substantially larger project, averaging 544,000 ounces a year across the first five years over a 20-year mine life, on a higher C$1.7 billion capex. Yet its C$3.5 billion NPV is built on a far more conservative US$2,150/oz base case and a US$569/oz all-in sustaining cost. That NPV sits on a harder foundation than White Gold’s.
Coffee Gold, meanwhile, posts a US$2.3 billion NPV, a 47.8% IRR, and the same 1.7-year payback as White Gold, but constrains its pit design at a moderate US$2,500/oz even while modelling economics at US$3,620/oz.
Infrastructure access is the other axis that matters. Road-accessible projects support higher confidence in capital and operating cost estimates and make institutional valuation frameworks easier to apply. White Gold’s requirement for a new airstrip places it firmly in the fly-in category, which carries higher execution risk and cost-overrun potential than a road-connected peer.
For large-capex Yukon projects, analysts consistently apply three credibility criteria:
- Demonstrated margins at materially lower prices than the optimistic base case
- Road or infrastructure access that reduces cost uncertainty
- Financing feasibility under realistic consensus pricing rather than one-way bullish assumptions
The peer view makes the trade-off explicit. White Gold’s NPV is competitive in dollar terms with larger projects using more conservative prices, which forces a question: are you paying for genuine resource quality, or for the current gold price? Shares have already moved from C$1.22 at the start of 2026 to C$2.23 by 5 September 2026, so the market has begun answering it.
The next major ASX story will hit our subscribers first
The drilling programme as a re-rating catalyst: what investors should watch and when
The PEA is not a fixed document. It is a baseline the current drilling season is actively testing, and the milestones ahead could shift the thesis before any pre-feasibility study lands.
This year’s programme is the company’s largest since 2016: a target of 15,000-20,000 metres, against roughly 90,000 metres drilled historically at the project. Around 75% of that metreage is aimed at extending known deposits along strike and at depth, the higher-probability work that firms up ounces already in the model.
Drilling costs in Canadian gold exploration vary significantly by jurisdiction, season, and access method; for a remote Yukon project running 15,000-20,000 metres, those cost variables directly affect whether a resource update delivers low-cost ounces or consumes capital that narrows the financing headroom modelled in the PEA.
The four deposits in play give you a clear watchlist:
- Golden Saddle (extension along strike and depth)
- VG (extension along strike and depth)
- Ryan’s Surprise (extension along strike and depth)
- Golden Saddle 2.0 (new exploration target)
All four remain open in multiple directions with only limited prior exploration. Re-assaying of historical drill core is also underway on previously unsampled intervals, which management expects will add low-cost ounces to the resource model. That is incremental upside at minimal expense.
The sequencing is what defines the re-rating timeline:
- Drill results expected during autumn 2026
- A resource update decision: late 2026 if results are favourable, otherwise further drilling in 2027 first
- A potential updated PEA that could finally incorporate the deferred underground scenario
Here is the connection that matters most. The roughly 1 million ounces left outside the open-pit mine plan are the clearest near-term re-rating lever. If autumn drilling extends the known deposits and a resource update follows, the next PEA could open the underground picture management deliberately parked, and that catalyst is arguably more relevant to your entry decision than the existing NPV.
Golden Saddle 2.0 and the fault-offset exploration thesis
Golden Saddle 2.0 sits on the opposite side of a strike-slip fault, a fracture where two blocks of rock have slid horizontally past each other, that cuts across the project area. When a fault offsets ground like this, mineralisation that once continued can be displaced sideways to a new position, giving geologists a logical place to look rather than a random guess. The target was flagged by magnetic geophysical signatures and geochemical data, not by hope alone.
That makes it the programme’s highest-variance component. Success would add ounces outside the current resource envelope entirely; failure simply leaves the base thesis intact. It is optionality, not a load-bearing assumption.
Positioning for the next milestone: what the numbers require before this project re-rates
Understanding the project is one thing. Forming a position on it is another, and that comes down to three variables, ranked by their likely impact on the thesis:
- Gold price relative to US$3,600/oz: the base case’s foundation, and the single most powerful input in the model.
- Autumn 2026 drill results and any resource update they trigger: the next hard data point on whether the resource grows beyond the current mine plan.
- The eventual pre-feasibility study: the document that would replace the plus or minus 30% PEA accuracy with a tighter range and materially narrow the valuation debate.
The financing case is where price pressure bites. With capex and NPV both calibrated to a US$3,600/oz environment, a sustained move below roughly US$2,500/oz, the design price peers use, would strain the financing conversation well before it ever begins.
The market has already priced in a successful PEA. Shares nearly doubled from C$1.22 to C$2.23 across 2026, which means the easy re-rating has happened. The next leg requires either drill results that expand the resource beyond the current plan, or a gold price that holds above the base case long enough for financing talks to start.
The decision framework: If you are bullish on gold staying above US$3,000/oz long-term and comfortable with PEA-stage uncertainty, this project offers a specific, quantifiable risk-reward case worth evaluating. If you require conservative price assumptions or feasibility-level confidence before committing, you are looking at a different, longer time horizon, and waiting for the pre-feasibility study is the rational call.
Entering at current levels is essentially a bet that at least one of those two catalysts, resource growth or price persistence, arrives on schedule.
This article is for informational purposes only and should not be considered financial advice. Investors should conduct their own research and consult with financial professionals before making investment decisions. Past performance does not guarantee future results, and financial projections are subject to market conditions and various risk factors. PEA-stage economics carry a plus or minus 30% accuracy range, and all forward-looking statements are speculative and subject to change based on market developments and company performance.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is a Preliminary Economic Assessment (PEA) in mining and how reliable are its numbers?
A PEA is an early-stage economic study that estimates a mining project's viability using a plus or minus 30% margin of error on cost and production figures, meaning every metric is a directional midpoint rather than a fixed value. White Gold Corp's PEA for its Yukon project is the first formal economic study on the resource, so its C$1.911 billion NPV should be read as a confidence range, not a precise valuation.
What gold price does the White Gold Corp PEA use as its base case?
The White Gold Corp PEA uses US$3,600 per ounce as its base case, which independent analysts have characterised as considerably higher than the price assumptions used by comparable peer projects such as Snowline Valley, which models its base case at US$2,150 per ounce.
What does White Gold Corp's 2026 drilling programme target and when will results be released?
The 2026 programme targets 15,000-20,000 metres across four deposits, with roughly 75% of drilling focused on extending Golden Saddle, VG, and Ryan's Surprise along strike and at depth; results are expected during autumn 2026, with a potential resource update decision to follow in late 2026 if results are favourable.
How does White Gold Corp's PEA compare to Snowline Gold's Valley deposit study?
Snowline's Valley deposit posts a larger C$3.5 billion NPV built on a far more conservative US$2,150 per ounce base case, averages 544,000 ounces annually over a 20-year mine life, and publishes a downside sensitivity showing C$1.6 billion NPV at US$1,650 per ounce, a stress-test level of disclosure that White Gold's PEA does not currently match.
What catalysts could re-rate White Gold Corp shares beyond their current level?
The two primary re-rating catalysts are positive autumn 2026 drill results that expand the resource beyond the roughly 2 million ounces in the current mine plan, and a sustained gold price above the US$3,600 per ounce base case that makes the C$1.05 billion financing conversation credible. A subsequent pre-feasibility study would also replace the PEA's wide accuracy band with a tighter cost range, materially shifting institutional confidence in the project.

