Chile Approves Sidon Solar Project With 1,296 MWh Battery
Key Takeaways
- Chile's SEA approved Sidon Solar with 1,296 MWh of Huawei battery storage against only 158.17 MWdc of panels, a design built to sell power after sunset.
- The approved design cut panel capacity from 162.55 MWdc in the 2025 filing while holding grid output at 150 MWac, showing the developer is optimising for evening delivery over panel count.
- Chile's operating storage fleet stands at 3.12 GW / 13.5 GWh, with 5.22 GW / 22.3 GWh under construction, and 63 of 68 pipeline projects are co-located with generation, so Sidon reflects the market norm.
- The $100 million project faces unsettled economics: capacity auctions pay roughly US$8-12/MWh, while co-located storage adds US$150-200/kWh in capex and can lengthen payback by almost two years.
- Environmental consent is no longer the hard part; with 18.4 GW licensed and 10.3 GW in evaluation, grid rights, financing and the unpublished SEA conditions will decide whether Sidon proceeds.
Chile’s Environmental Assessment Service (SEA) has approved the Sidon Solar project, a photovoltaic plant whose 1,296 MWh battery is unusually large next to its roughly 158 MWdc of panels. The developer is Trina Solar Systems (Chile) SpA, through its project company, and the site straddles the Biobío and Ñuble regions.
The battery is the story. Sidon is designed to sell much of its power after sunset, when solar plants elsewhere have stopped generating.
The approval comes as Chile’s storage fleet expands quickly. Industry body ACERA counted 3.12 GW / 13.5 GWh operating as of August 2026, while curtailment (forced cuts to output when the grid cannot absorb it) keeps rising.
Here is what was approved, how the design changed from the 2025 filing, and what the project’s shape suggests about the direction of Chilean solar.
What did Chile actually approve, and how does it differ from the 2025 filing?
The approved package pairs 158.17 MWdc of solar with 1,296 MWh of Huawei battery storage. The owner is Sidon Solar SpA, which Trina’s Chilean unit created in July 2023. The plant spans the municipalities of Cabrero (Biobío) and Pemuco (Ñuble).
The detail that matters is easy to miss. The 2025 submission listed 162.55 MWdc, so the approved design carries less panel capacity, not more. MWdc measures the panels’ direct-current output. MWac measures what the plant can deliver to the grid after conversion, and that figure has stayed at 150 MWac.
| Metric | 2025 submission | Approved design |
|---|---|---|
| DC capacity | 162.55 MWdc | 158.17 MWdc |
| AC capacity | 150 MWac | Not stated separately |
| Battery capacity | Not found | 1,296 MWh |
No 2025 battery figure was located, so it is not possible to say whether storage changed. The approved configuration includes:
- 218,160 modules rated 725 W on 4,040 single-axis trackers, which tilt panels to follow the sun
- 18 transformer stations and 185.44 ha of panel area
- 324 Huawei Luna2000 battery units on a 30,967 m² site, injecting 150 MW for five hours
- A total footprint of 275.31 ha, including the power line
The review was layered. SEA Resolution Exenta Nº 202599101871, dated 29 September 2025, opened citizen participation on the project’s environmental impact statement (DIA) in October 2025. Approval was reported today, 8 October 2026, although the final resolution text and conditions have not been located.
Read together, a trimmed panel count and a very large battery tell you the developer is optimising for evening delivery rather than maximum panel count.
How the plant connects to the grid
Power will leave the project substation on a single-circuit 220 kV, 5.7 km line to the existing Entre Ríos substation. The line has 170 MVA of nominal capacity and takes about 17 months to build. Stored solar output is then injected into the National Electricity System (SEN) after dark.
Why is a solar plant in central Chile built around its battery?
Sidon’s design makes sense once you look at the grid around it. Chile’s generation is concentrated in the north, while about 60% of demand sits in central Chile, and Sidon lies in the south-central zone.
That mismatch has a measurable cost. According to Mordor Intelligence, curtailment reached about 6 TWh in 2024, roughly triple the 2022 level. The system operator issued curtailment notices on 142 days, and some plants lost up to 25% of potential spring output.
Chile’s curtailment problem is as much about transmission as generation, since storage eases the midday surplus cyclically while the grid constraint that forces plants to cut output remains structural.
Batteries are the industry’s answer, and the build-out is large. ACERA’s August 2026 snapshot shows:
| Status | Power | Energy |
|---|---|---|
| Operating | 3.12 GW | 13.5 GWh |
| Testing | 2.67 GW | 12.4 GWh |
| Under construction | 5.22 GW | 22.3 GWh |
| Licensed | 18.4 GW | Not reported |
| In evaluation | 10.3 GW | Not reported |
Sources differ on the construction figure (5.22 GW, 5,040 MW and 4.7 GW) because of different cut-off dates and criteria. ACERA expects about 2.90 GW of additions a year through 2028.
Most of that storage is attached to solar. Analyst Suazo Martínez counted a 5,219 MW / 22.1 GWh construction pipeline in July 2026, and daily battery injection climbed from 2.4 to 9.1 GWh during 2025.
Hybrid dominance 63 of 68 projects in the pipeline, about 95% of battery MW, are co-located with generation.
Policy pushes the same way. DS32 and DS1 bring storage into dispatch and small-generator pricing rules, the 2025-2028 auction calendar allocates 11.6 GWh of storage, and tender 2026/01 lets storage serve as backup for solar.
If you track Chilean energy assets, the message is plain: Sidon reflects the market norm, not an outlier.
What does the $100 million project mean for investors, jobs and risk?
The declared numbers are straightforward:
- $100 million declared investment
- 24-month construction, averaging 350 workers and peaking at 600
- 12 operating staff over a 33-year life
- A pledge to prioritise hiring from Cabrero and Pemuco through municipal employment offices
The economics are less settled. The auctions pay roughly US$8-12/MWh in extra capacity revenue, and batteries earn from arbitrage, buying or storing cheap midday power and selling it in pricier evening hours. Mordor estimates co-located storage adds US$150-200/kWh in capex and can lengthen payback by almost two years.
So the $100 million sets a headline scale, but your read on returns should rest on arbitrage, capacity payments and policy stability, none of which this approval guarantees.
Risks the approval does not remove
- Curtailment: it persists despite multi-gigawatt storage deployment.
- Regulation: today’s tenders reward hybrid capacity, but future rounds could re-weight requirements.
- Permitting congestion: 18.4 GW licensed, 10.3 GW in evaluation and 17 standalone projects (3,550 MW / 19,024 MWh) under SEA review point to a heavy queue.
The same-day Zelestra approvals for Pampino and Monterrico, which together cleared 2.2 GWh of storage, show that environmental consent is no longer the hard part; grid rights and financing now decide which projects proceed.
Standalone assets such as CIP’s 1.1 GWh Arena BESS in Atacama show a competing model. No Chile-specific hybrid economics from BloombergNEF, Wood Mackenzie, the IEA or Moody’s was found, nor 2025-2026 data on fires, community opposition or supply chains.
What the approval settles, and what still needs to be proved
The approval confirms the design and scale of a battery-heavy hybrid plant. Construction, grid connection and market revenue all remain to be demonstrated.
Engie’s commissioned battery systems, BESS Libélula and BESS Los Loros, lifted its operating fleet to 663 MW, a concrete example of storage moving from approval into revenue-earning operation.
Watch for the published SEA resolution and its conditions, construction start and financing, and how tender 2026/01 values storage. The next ACERA update will show whether hybrid build-out keeps its pace.
This article is for informational purposes only and should not be considered financial advice. Investors should conduct their own research and consult with financial professionals before making investment decisions. Financial projections are subject to market conditions and various risk factors.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Sidon Solar project in Chile?
Sidon Solar is a photovoltaic plant approved by Chile's Environmental Assessment Service, pairing 158.17 MWdc of panels with 1,296 MWh of Huawei battery storage across Cabrero (Biobío) and Pemuco (Ñuble). Developer Trina Solar Systems (Chile) SpA designed it to deliver much of its power after sunset.
What is curtailment in Chile's solar market?
Curtailment is the forced cutting of plant output when the grid cannot absorb the power. It reached about 6 TWh in 2024, roughly triple the 2022 level, and some plants lost up to 25% of potential spring output.
How is the approved Sidon Solar design different from the 2025 filing?
The approved design carries 158.17 MWdc of panels, down from 162.55 MWdc in the 2025 submission, while AC capacity stayed at 150 MWac. The trimmed panel count alongside a very large battery signals a focus on evening delivery over maximum panel capacity.
How much battery storage is operating in Chile right now?
ACERA counted 3.12 GW / 13.5 GWh of battery storage operating as of August 2026. A further 5.22 GW / 22.3 GWh is under construction, and about 95% of pipeline battery MW is co-located with generation.
What risks remain after the Sidon Solar environmental approval?
Approval does not remove curtailment, regulatory shifts in future tenders, or permitting congestion, with 18.4 GW licensed and 10.3 GW in evaluation. Grid rights and financing now decide which projects proceed, and returns depend on arbitrage, capacity payments and policy stability.
