Rail Coal Surges 11.4%, but Mormugao Port Consents Stay Capped
Key Takeaways
- SWR loaded 5.36 MT of coal in April-September 2026, up 11.4%, outpacing total originating freight growth of 5.8% to 26.1 MT.
- The Goa State Pollution Control Board has approved no increase in consents, leaving Mormugao Port coal handling capped at 5.5 MTPA (SWPL) and 5.2 MTPA (Adani), about 10.7 MTPA combined.
- Actual handling sits close to the ceiling: 9.76 MT in FY2024-25 leaves incremental rail coal little room to land at Mormugao without a new consent.
- A 6-metre stack height cap, two to three month storage limit and seasonal berth caps bind harder than annual consents, and a 17 February 2026 enforcement direction followed complaints within weeks.
- The 42.1 MTPA expansion plan contradicts the Mormugao Port Authority's no-new-berths statement to the National Green Tribunal, so long-term growth is better priced as unapproved optionality than as a pipeline.
SWR coal loading rose 11.4% in April-September 2026, yet the Goa pollution regulator has approved no increase in coal handling consents at Mormugao. Many coal-logistics watchers may be misreading that gap, because rail growth does not automatically become port throughput.
South Western Railway (SWR) posted record originating freight loading of 4.41 million tonnes (MT) in September 2026, up 5.9%, and coal is growing faster than the total. But SWR reports figures for its whole zone, with no split for Goa, so the port-side limits matter to anyone pricing this growth.
Here is where rail momentum meets regulatory ceilings, and which variables decide whether volume turns into revenue. Mormugao Port coal handling is the test case.
What do SWR’s record coal loadings actually tell you?
September loading reached 4.41 MT against 4.17 MT a year earlier, a rise of 5.9%, with freight revenue of about ₹870 crore. Coal alone moved roughly 0.90 MT that month, up 20.8%.
The six-month picture builds the same way. SWR loaded 26.1 MT across April-September 2026, up 5.8%, according to SWR communications carried by Free Press Journal, Times of India and ET Infra.
| Commodity | Volume, April-September 2026 (MT) | Year-on-year change |
|---|---|---|
| Iron ore | 10.17 | Not reported |
| Pig iron and finished steel | 5.95 | Not reported |
| Coal | 5.36 | 11.4% |
| Total originating loading | 26.1 | 5.8% |
Coal is one strand of a wider bulk-commodity story alongside iron ore and steel, not an isolated spike. It is simply the fastest-growing strand.
Data caveat A Press Information Bureau release of 2 October 2026 cites 31.3 MT at the same 5.8% growth, without a clear cut-off date. The 26.1 MT figure is consistently tied to April-September, so that is the one to cite.
Here is the limit of the data. SWR does not say where the coal goes, so none of it can be attributed to Mormugao or Goa. Treat the surge as a demand signal for coal movement on this corridor, not a forecast of port throughput.
Rail demand also reflects how coal is bought and priced, and India’s coal trading reforms are changing price discovery in ways that can shift where tonnes are routed, independent of any single port’s consent.
When big ASX news breaks, our subscribers know first
How Mormugao Port coal handling is capped by consents, not demand
The headline numbers look generous. Two terminals hold annual consents, measured in million tonnes per annum (MTPA), from the Goa State Pollution Control Board (GSPCB).
| Operator | Berths | Annual consent | Consent expiry |
|---|---|---|---|
| South West Port Ltd (SWPL) | 5A and 6A | 5.5 MTPA | December 2028 |
| Adani Mormugao Port Terminal | 7 | 5.2 MTPA | January 2030 |
GSPCB has approved no increase. Minutes of its 133rd board meeting in August 2025 show SWPL applying for 5.5 MTPA, consistent with the reported limit.
Actual handling sits close to the ceiling. The Mormugao Port Authority (MPA) says it handled 9.76 MT in FY2024-25 and 5.19 MT in April-September 2025, and it dismisses a 13.6 MT claim as false. Against a combined consent of about 10.7 MTPA, incremental rail coal has little room to land at Mormugao without a new consent.
Annual figures also flatter the position. Three operating limits bind harder:
- Stack height: capped at 6 metres.
- Storage time: coal should not sit beyond two to three months.
- Seasonal caps: monthly limits at berth 7 and the mooring dolphins.
Those rules can squeeze throughput and raise handling costs even when annual numbers look adequate. Operators cite three continuous air quality monitoring stations, a closed coal shed at SWPL and indoor dome handling as safeguards.
What the January-February 2026 complaints exposed
GSPCB received odour complaints on 25 January, 27 January and 8 February 2026. A 4 February inspection found about 38,000 MT of NTPC-bound thermal coal at berth 7, stacked since October 2025.
Within weeks, on 17 February, GSPCB directed the terminal to cap stack height and limit storage time. Complaints turn into enforcement conditions quickly here.
Enforcement at Mormugao fits a wider pattern, as coal transport compliance frameworks face growing scrutiny from regulators, and complaints can convert into operating conditions within weeks rather than years.
Why the 42.1 MTPA plan and the High Court case make growth a legal question
Court filings and coverage of a July 2025 petition describe a plan to lift coal capacity from about 10.64 MTPA to 42.1 MTPA by 2035.
The plan on paper From about 10.64 MTPA to 42.1 MTPA by 2035, as described in filings and media coverage.
Yet the MPA has told the National Green Tribunal it has no plans to add or expand coal berths. Both signals cannot be right, and a court may decide which matters.
The litigation follows a pattern:
- 2018: Goa Foundation files a public interest petition seeking permanent closure of coal handling.
- January 2024: notices relate to an offshore coal handling study of about 70,000 tonnes.
- July 2025: Vasco residents file a petition; the High Court of Bombay at Goa issues notices.
- 11 September 2025: replies due from respondents.
- 2026: scrutiny continues.
Petitioners cite coal dust, toxic emissions and harm to air, water, soil, fishing and tourism. The Goa government, answering Fatorda MLA Vijai Sardesai, says operations remain within limits and points to dome handling, while acknowledging no action has been taken to lower volumes.
For you, the gap between a 42.1 MTPA plan and a “no new berths” statement means long-term Mormugao coal growth is better priced as unapproved optionality than as a pipeline.
Import-dependent terminals also face a structural question, because Coal India’s coal import reduction roadmap aims to displace imported tonnes over the next decade, which could reduce the volumes any port is asked to handle.
What precedent says about regulatory risk for coal logistics investors
GSPCB has acted before. In 2016/17 a JSW-linked operator imported 10.11 MT against an authorisation of 5.48 MTPA, and its permit was revoked.
SWPL saw an earlier consent revocation and prosecutions, then a coal halt after public complaints, with limestone and steel slabs permitted instead. Prior 25% import cuts have also been reported, though that claim is unverified.
| Risk | Evidence | Who it affects | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enforcement | JSW permit revoked; no consent increase | Operators | Live |
| Operational | Stack, storage and seasonal caps | Operators, shippers | In force |
| Litigation | 2018 and 2025 petitions | Operators, lenders | Ongoing |
| Dust and odour | Jan-Feb 2026 complaints | Residents, operators | Live |
| Growth plan | 42.1 MTPA under court scrutiny | Long-term investors | Unapproved |
The mitigation case is real: domes, closed sheds and monitoring. Stakeholder aims differ:
- Vasco residents and Goa Foundation: halt expansion or end coal handling.
- GSPCB: enforce limits and respond to exceedances.
- Goa government and MPA: keep trade and power supply running with safeguards.
- Operators: demonstrate compliance with consent conditions.
The evidence has gaps. Coverage offers no driver-level breakdown of coal growth and no post-2024 comparison with other Indian ports. Because enforcement has cut or halted coal before, consent renewal dates and court outcomes are the variables to watch.
The next major ASX story will hit our subscribers first
Educational note: where rail volume meets port consent
A rail record and a port cap can coexist because they measure different things. Three layers matter:
- Rail loading: tonnes originating on the railway, zone-wide.
- Annual consent: the MTPA a regulator allows a terminal to handle.
- Operating conditions: monthly caps, stack height and storage time.
A worked example: SWR moved 5.36 MT of coal in six months across its zone, while Mormugao’s combined consent is about 10.7 MTPA against 9.76 MT handled in FY2024-25. Coal can be routed elsewhere or held, so zone-wide rail data is not port data.
Check the consent first when testing any coal logistics claim.
Reading the rail surge against the port ceiling
Rail growth is verified. Port growth is capped, contested and unapproved.
Three variables decide what happens next: any GSPCB consent change, the High Court ruling on the expansion plan, and whether SWR publishes coal data by destination.
For coal logistics, bulk commodity and port infrastructure investors, the decision is to weigh rail-side momentum against consent-side limits. Treat claims of higher Mormugao throughput as unproven until a consent says otherwise.
This article is for informational purposes only and should not be considered financial advice. Investors should conduct their own research and consult with financial professionals before making investment decisions. These statements are speculative and subject to change based on market developments and regulatory outcomes.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is a port consent for coal handling?
A port consent is an annual permission, measured in million tonnes per annum (MTPA), that a pollution regulator grants a terminal to handle cargo. At Mormugao, the Goa State Pollution Control Board caps South West Port Ltd at 5.5 MTPA and Adani Mormugao Port Terminal at 5.2 MTPA.
Does record South Western Railway coal loading mean more coal at Mormugao Port?
No. SWR reports zone-wide figures with no split for Goa, so none of the 5.36 MT of coal loaded in April-September 2026 can be attributed to Mormugao. Coal can be routed elsewhere or held, and rail data is not port data.
What operating limits apply to coal handling at Mormugao Port?
Stack height is capped at 6 metres, coal should not be stored beyond two to three months, and monthly caps apply at berth 7 and the mooring dolphins. These rules can squeeze throughput and raise handling costs even when annual volumes look adequate.
What is the 42.1 MTPA Mormugao coal expansion plan?
Court filings and media coverage describe a plan to lift coal capacity from about 10.64 MTPA to 42.1 MTPA by 2035. The Mormugao Port Authority has told the National Green Tribunal it has no plans to add or expand coal berths, so the plan remains unapproved and under legal scrutiny.
What regulatory variables should coal logistics investors watch at Mormugao?
Three variables decide the outlook: any Goa State Pollution Control Board consent change, the Bombay High Court at Goa ruling on the expansion plan, and whether SWR publishes coal data by destination. Consent expiries in December 2028 for SWPL and January 2030 for Adani are also key dates.

