KGL Resources Banks Final US$16M Wheaton Payment, Clearing Path to Jervois Decision
Key Takeaways
- KGL has received the second US$16 million Wheaton instalment, completing the full US$32 million Early Deposit before construction starts at Jervois.
- Wheaton's package totals up to US$300 million, including US$243 million in four equal tranches and an optional US$25 million cost-overrun facility.
- Copper stays fully unencumbered, with the PMPA covering only a portion of gold and silver by-products.
- With the A$300 million equity raise and existing cash, KGL says Jervois is funded through construction and into production, with no project debt.
- The Final Investment Decision is the next big milestone, but no date is disclosed and PMPA pricing and delivery terms remain undisclosed.
Second US$16M Wheaton payment received, completing US$32M Early Deposit
KGL Resources (ASX: KGL) has received the second US$16 million instalment of the Early Deposit under its Precious Metals Purchase Agreement (PMPA) with Wheaton Precious Metals International Ltd (Wheaton). That completes the full US$32 million Early Deposit available before construction starts at the Jervois Copper Project in the Northern Territory.
The first US$16 million arrived in June 2026 (refer ASX announcement dated 18 June 2026). The company announced the second payment on 6 October 2026.
The payment followed satisfaction of the applicable conditions for the Early Deposit, including Wheaton’s FIRB approval and evidence of Early Works expenditure. For you as an investor, that tells you KGL is meeting the conditions attached to the PMPA as it advances its 100%-owned Jervois Project.
Sam Strohmayr, Chief Executive Officer
“Receipt of the second US$16 million payment completes the US$32 million Early Deposit and is another clear execution milestone for the Jervois Project…”
Strohmayr said the company’s focus is “…firmly on progressing the Final Investment Decision and safely delivering the Jervois Project.”
When big ASX news breaks, our subscribers know first
What does the Wheaton PMPA deliver?
The PMPA was announced on 2 April 2026 (refer ASX announcement dated 2 April 2026). Wheaton will provide up to US$275 million in upfront consideration, made up of:
- The US$32 million Early Deposit, now received in full
- A further US$243 million, available in four equal tranches as agreed construction and other conditions are satisfied
The arrangement also provides KGL with access, at its option and subject to the terms of the PMPA, to an additional US$25 million cost-overrun facility.
Including that facility, total potential funding reaches US$300 million.
| Component | Amount | Status | Condition |
|---|---|---|---|
| Early Deposit | US$32M | Received in full | Applicable conditions satisfied, including FIRB approval and Early Works expenditure evidence |
| Further upfront consideration | US$243M | Available in four equal tranches | As agreed construction and other conditions are satisfied |
| Contingent cost-overrun facility | US$25M | Available at KGL’s option | Subject to the terms of the PMPA |
| Total potential funding | US$300M | Maximum under the PMPA | Includes the contingent facility |
The arrangement relates to a portion of Jervois’ gold and silver by-products, with copper production remaining fully unencumbered. In plain terms, KGL keeps full exposure to its main product.
Streaming explained for beginners
A precious metals purchase agreement is a deal where a developer receives upfront payments in exchange for the right to buy a portion of future by-product metal. Here, the by-products are gold and silver.
The announcement does not disclose PMPA pricing or delivery terms, so those details remain unknown.
The next major ASX story will hit our subscribers first
Is Jervois funded through construction and into production?
Following completion of KGL’s A$300 million equity raising (refer ASX announcement dated 24 July 2026), the Wheaton package and KGL’s existing cash provide the funding required to advance Jervois through construction and into production. The announcement states there is no project debt and copper remains unencumbered.
Keep the currencies separate. The A$300 million is the equity raising, while the US$ figures belong to the Wheaton PMPA. The announcement does not disclose KGL’s cash balance.
The Jervois Project snapshot, as described by the company:
- 100%-owned and high-grade
- Initial 10-year mine life
- Expected to produce approximately 30,000 tonnes of copper per annum at steady state
- Significant silver and gold by-products
Next steps include progressing the Final Investment Decision, with enabling works underway. KGL is also undertaking a funded exploration program targeting resource growth, mine-life extension and new discoveries across the broader Jervois and Unca Creek tenements. No dates are disclosed for these steps.
The Sedgman processing plant contract covers full design, procurement and construction of the 2.0 million tonne per annum plant, with long-lead equipment procurement already underway ahead of the planned Final Investment Decision.
The Production Target and forecast financial information derived from it were first released on 24 April 2026. KGL confirms that all material assumptions continue to apply and have not materially changed.
Get ASX Copper News Before the Market Moves
Join 30,000+ investors receiving FREE breaking ASX mining and energy news within minutes of release, complete with in-depth analysis and the full announcement. Click the “Free Alerts” button at Big News Blast to get copper, gold and lithium alerts the moment market-moving news breaks.
