Avonbank Gets a 20-Year Licence, Half the Mine Life WIM Wanted
Key Takeaways
- Resources Victoria granted a 20-year licence on 6 October 2026 against the 38 years WIM requested, leaving the back half of a roughly 36-year mine plan dependent on approvals that do not yet exist.
- The licence is a regulatory milestone, not a financing one: the Work Plan, rehabilitation bond and project finance are all outstanding, and no capital cost estimate or financing facility is public.
- WIM targets construction from late 2027 and mining from 2029, a best case that hinges on capital markets and company execution rather than the regulator.
- WIM's $40 million community fund is back-loaded, with only $1 million spent over three years before operations begin and the rest financed across the mine's life.
- Donald, with an approved work plan and a monazite route to Energy Fuels in North America, sits well ahead of Avonbank, which has no processing arrangement detailed publicly.
WIM Resource asked Victoria for a 38-year mining licence over its Avonbank project. Resources Victoria granted 20 years. Most coverage treats this mineral sands licence as a straightforward approval, but the halved term raises a sharper question: what does a licence that covers barely half the planned mine life actually signal?
Resources Victoria issued the licence on 6 October 2026, in the same week Horsham Rural City Council, farmers and environmental groups lined up against the project. The decision also sits inside a wider mineral sands build-out across the Wimmera-Mallee, which makes it relevant both to landholders near Horsham and to investors tracking Australian critical minerals.
The real story is in the detail. Here is what the licence authorises and what it leaves open, how much weight the opposition and the company’s community pledges can carry, and how much ground remains between yesterday’s approval and first production.
What the 20-year licence does and does not authorise
The headline reads like a green light. The licence permits WIM Resource Pty Ltd to extract heavy mineral sands, including zircon, titanium and rare earth elements, across a 3,426 ha application area near Dooen and Jung, roughly 15 km north-east of Horsham.
Look closer, and the approval shrinks.
A mining licence in Victoria grants rights over a defined area for a defined period. It does not, on its own, allow a single tonne of ore to be dug. Avonbank has climbed a stack of approvals over more than a decade, and the most consequential steps are still ahead.
The gap between mining permits versus exploration rights explains why a retention licence from 2014 only allowed evaluation, while the new mining licence is the first instrument that can support extraction at all.
| Stage | Status | Date |
|---|---|---|
| Retention licence RL2014 (evaluation only) | Granted | September 2014 |
| EPBC Act approval (Commonwealth) | Granted with conditions | 4 April 2025 |
| Mining licence (application MIN008642, lodged 7 March 2025) | Granted, 20-year term | 6 October 2026 |
| Mining Work Plan, rehabilitation plan and bond | Outstanding | Not disclosed |
| Project finance | Outstanding | Not disclosed |
| Construction | Targeted by WIM | Late 2027 |
The regulator said WIM showed a suitable, fully funded work programme it could carry out, and met fit-and-proper criteria. Recommendations from the Minister for Planning under the Environment Effects Statement (EES), the state’s formal environmental impact review, will be enforced through licence conditions and the Work Plan assessment.
Regulator’s view Laura Helm, Resources Victoria’s director of regulatory operations, credited the outcome to careful assessment by multiple state and Commonwealth agencies.
One loose thread remains. WIM’s own FAQ from 31 July 2026 said the licence could not be granted until a foreign investment decision was resolved. The grant implies that happened, but the outcome has not been detailed publicly, so treat it as unconfirmed.
Why 20 years rather than 38?
No detailed government explanation for the shorter term is available. The only stated basis is the work-programme assessment.
The Donald project nearby shows a similar pattern: a 20-year licence period against a mine life of about 42 years. Whether Avonbank can extend past 20 years through renewals is unconfirmed. What this tells you is that the back half of a roughly 36-year mine plan depends on approvals that do not yet exist, a variable to weigh rather than a settled fact.
When big ASX news breaks, our subscribers know first
How big is Avonbank, and how far is it from production?
The licence term is one constraint. The project’s ambition is the other side of the ledger, and it is large.
Scale
- Open-pit mining of about 11 million tonnes of ore per year
- 12.75 million tonnes of heavy mineral concentrate (sand enriched in valuable minerals) over a planned 36-year life
- Intended 24-hour operations
- About 1,000 full-time local jobs, according to WIM’s estimate
Those figures need handling with care. The application described the 11 Mt annual rate over 30 years, not 36, and the research does not reconcile the gap. Other reporting puts local employment at “hundreds”, well short of the company’s figure.
Timeline and funding
WIM’s stated path to first production runs in this order:
- Mining licence granted (6 October 2026)
- Mining Work Plan, rehabilitation plan and bond approved
- Finance secured
- Construction from late 2027
- Mining and operations from 2029
Every step after the first is unfinished. WIM itself describes finance as a gating item and says significant work remains before construction.
The funding picture is thin. WIM is a private, Chinese-backed company, and no ownership breakdown, financing facility or capital cost estimate is available in the public record reviewed.
That matters for how you read this week’s news. The licence is a regulatory milestone, not a financing one, and the 2029 start is best read as a best case that hinges on capital markets and the company’s execution, neither of which the regulator controls.
Council, farmers and residents: what is the opposition actually objecting to?
If finance is the hurdle WIM controls least, local opposition is the one that can still reshape the project’s conditions. The noise is loud, but it splits into two distinct types of objection.
The technical concerns are testable: dust, real-time air monitoring, whether farmland can be rehabilitated, and use of the nearby intermodal freight hub, including a possible mining licence for it. The procedural concerns are about trust: election timing, ministers declining to meet council, and cumulative impacts across multiple regional projects.
| Stakeholder | Main concern | Response or open question |
|---|---|---|
| Horsham Rural City Council (Mayor Brian Klowss) | Dust, rehabilitation, air monitoring, freight hub, timing | Monitoring and handling to be settled at Work Plan stage |
| Victorian Farmers Federation (Ryan Milgate) | Approval just before an election conflicts with its call to pause new critical minerals projects | Government comment sought by the ABC |
| Friends of the Earth, Mine Free Wimmera Farms, residents | Prime farmland, planning failures, cumulative effects | Cumulative assessment approach not detailed |
| WIM Resource | Regulatory compliance, jobs, community fund | Fund mostly paid out over mine life |
Klowss said council had been told to expect a decision in January and questioned why it arrived now. He also said former planning minister Lily D’Ambrosio and current minister Sonya Kilkenny declined to speak with council about the mine.
The trust gap was visible months earlier, when Horsham council formally declined a reference group invitation from WIM, a signal that the procedural objections predate this week’s decision.
Council view Klowss said some residents are devastated and many feel they have been ignored.
Friends of the Earth said the approval shows the planning system has failed. WIM counters with more than a decade of local engagement, jobs and a $40 million community benefit fund. Only $1 million of that is spent over three years before operations begin; the rest is financed gradually across the mine’s life.
What this tells you is that the technical objections will be tested at the Work Plan stage, which is where opposition can still tighten conditions or cause delay. The fund’s back-loaded structure is worth weighing rather than accepting at headline value. No independent analyst commentary on Avonbank is available.
The next major ASX story will hit our subscribers first
What the approval means for the Wimmera-Mallee pipeline and for investors
Step back from Horsham and Avonbank becomes one of roughly 10 mineral sands projects planned across the Wimmera-Mallee and into New South Wales. The current status of Kulwin, Ginkgo, Wemen and Mindarie is not covered in available reporting, but Donald offers a useful benchmark.
Avonbank sits within Victoria’s critical minerals push, a state-level strategy to build supply chain capability, which helps explain why the regulator moved ahead despite the local opposition.
Astron and Energy Fuels are developing Donald near Minyip under licence MIN5532. Victoria approved its work plan in June 2025, covering 1,190 ha over 19 years and about $470 million of Phase 1 investment.
| Measure | Avonbank | Donald |
|---|---|---|
| Licence status | Granted 6 October 2026, 20 years | MIN5532, granted August 2010 |
| Work plan status | Outstanding | Approved June 2025 |
| Area | 3,426 ha (application) | 2,784 ha licence |
| Processing route | Not detailed | Monazite to Energy Fuels in North America |
Sources conflict on Donald’s timeframe: Resources Victoria cites a 20-year development period, while project materials describe a Phase 1 mine life of about 42 years.
Processing is the quieter dividing line. Mineral sands projects rely on external processing capacity, and monazite (a rare-earth-bearing mineral) can carry thorium and uranium, so radioactive material management draws close regulatory attention. Donald has an experienced uranium and rare earths processor attached; Avonbank has no equivalent arrangement detailed publicly.
Price forecasts, margin analyses and broker commentary are not available. For your purposes, Avonbank sits earlier and carries more uncertainty than Donald. The markers to watch:
- Work Plan approval, including the rehabilitation bond
- A financing announcement
- Any offtake or processing agreement
- Political fallout from the pre-election timing
Reading the licence as a checkpoint, not a verdict
Avonbank leaves this week with a licence shorter than it wanted, a Work Plan and financing path still ahead, and opposition that now has a defined stage on which to press its case. None of those threads resolves the others.
Signals of progress would be Work Plan approval, a financing close and a confirmed processing route. Signals of delay would be tighter Work Plan conditions, silence on funding and slippage from the late 2027 construction target. Those variables, not yesterday’s headline, will decide whether the 2029 ambition holds.
This article is for informational purposes only and should not be considered financial advice. Investors should conduct their own research and consult with financial professionals before making investment decisions. Timelines and projections cited are company targets and are subject to change based on approvals, financing and market developments.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is a mining licence in Victoria and what does it allow?
A Victorian mining licence grants rights over a defined area for a defined period, but it does not on its own allow ore to be dug. A Mining Work Plan, rehabilitation plan and bond must still be approved before extraction can begin.
How long is the Avonbank mining licence and why does it matter?
Resources Victoria granted a 20-year term on 6 October 2026, against the 38 years WIM Resource requested and a planned mine life of about 36 years. Whether renewals can extend it past 20 years is unconfirmed, so the back half of the mine plan rests on future approvals.
When could the Avonbank mineral sands mine start production?
WIM targets construction from late 2027 and mining from 2029. Work Plan approval and project finance are both outstanding, and no financing facility or capital cost estimate is public, so 2029 is a best-case target.
What are Horsham council and farmers objecting to at Avonbank?
Technical objections cover dust, real-time air monitoring, farmland rehabilitation and use of the nearby freight hub. Procedural objections cover the pre-election timing, ministers declining to meet council and cumulative impacts across regional projects.
How does Avonbank compare with the Donald mineral sands project?
Donald, developed by Astron and Energy Fuels, has had its work plan approved (June 2025) and has a monazite processing route to North America. Avonbank still has its Work Plan outstanding and no processing arrangement detailed publicly, so it sits earlier and carries more uncertainty.
